kentucky.gov linking image
KY Agencies KY Services
 
Kentucky: Unbridled Spirit
Page Heading: Certification

Certification
Assessment Requirements
Educator Preparation
Internships
Data & Research
EPSB Information
Ethics
EPSB Home

Approved Alternative Routes to Certification Programs

Asbury University

Approved Programs

Umbrella program for Middle School (Grades 5-9), Secondary (Grades 8-12) and Foreign Language including ESL (Grades P-12); Learning and Behavior Disorders P-12 ; School Principal P-12

Contact(s)

Melanie Kinnell - 859-858-3511 ext. 2304
Email: Melanie.kinnell@asbury.edu

 

Sherry W. Powers - 859-858-3511 x2208
Email: Sherry.powers@asbury.edu

Bellarmine University

Approved Programs

Umbrella alternative certification programs for all its EPSB-approved Master of Arts in Teaching programs; School Principal P-12

Contact(s)

Christy McGree - 502-272-8459
Email: cmcgee@bellarmine.edu

Campbellsville University

Approved Programs

Learning and Behavior Disorders P-12

Contact(s)

Norma Wheat - 1-800-264-6014 x5169
Email: nrwheat@campbellsville.edu

University of the Cumberlands

Approved Programs

Learning and Behavior Disorders P-12

 

Master of Arts in Teaching - Elementary Grades P-5; Middle Grades 5-9;

Secondary Grades 8-12: Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, English, Mathematics, Physics, and Social Studies;

Grades P-12: Art, Health, Integrated Music, and Physical Education;

Grades 5-12: Business and Marketing

Contact(s)

Donna Stanfill - 606-539-4496
Email: donna.stanfill@ucumberlands.edu

Dr. Shannon Deaton- 606-539-4660
Email: shannon.deaton@ucumberlands.edu

Eastern Kentucky University

Approved Programs

Umbrella alternative certification program for all its EPSB-approved programs

Contact(s)

859-622-1828
Email: certification.alternative_routes@eku.edu

Georgetown College

Approved Programs

Umbrella alternative certification program for middle, P-12, and secondary certification;

Master of Arts in Education: Learning and Behavior Disorders P-12

 

Jim Simpson - 502-863-8379 Email: James_simpson@georgetowncollege.edu

Contact(s)

Anita Jones - 502-863-7081 (Special Ed)
Email: Anita_Jones@georgetowncollege.edu

Kentucky State University

Approved Programs

Learning and Behavior Disorders P-12

Contact(s)

Joanne Rainer - 502-597-5574   
Email: joanne.rainey@kysu.edu

Morehead State University

Approved Programs

Master of Arts in Teaching - Middle School Grades 5-9;

Secondary, Grades 8-12: Biological Science, Chemistry, Earth Science, English, Mathematics, Physics and Social Studies;

Grades 5-12: Business and Marketing;

Grades P-12:Health and Physical Education, French, Learning and Behavior Disorders; Moderate and Severe Disabilities, Physical Education, and Spanish

Contact(s)

(Secondary)Duane Lambert - 606-783-9504 Email: d.lambert@moreheadstate.edu

(Middle Grades) Marian Sims – 606-783-9479 Email: m.sims@moreheadstate.edu

(Special Ed) Dan Grace – 606-783-2169  Email: d.grace@moreheadstate.edu

Murray State University

Approved Programs

Umbrella alternative certification program for all its EPSB-approved programs

Contact(s)

Cindy Thresher - 270-809-3280
Email:cthresher@murraystate.edu

 

Barbara Washington (Special Ed) - 270-809-2262
Email:  bwashington@murraystate.edu

 

Robert Lyons (Administration) - 270-809-6471
Email: rlyons@murraystate.edu

Northern Kentucky University

Approved Programs

Umbrella alternative certification program for all its EPSB approved programs

Contact(s)

Shawn Faulkner - 859-572-1910  Email: faulkners1@nku.edu

Spalding University

Approved Programs

Umbrella alternative certification program for all its EPSB approved B.S. and MAT programs, except Elementary

Contact(s)

Leslie Rowland - 502-873-4261
Email: lrowland@spalding.edu

Thomas More College

Approved Programs

Master of Arts in Teaching - Middle School Grades 5-9;

Secondary, Grades 8-12: Biological Science, Chemistry, English, Mathematics, Physics, Speech/Media Communications, and Social Studies;

Grades 5-12: Business and Marketing;

Grades P-12: Art, Spanish and Theater

Contact(s)

Joyce Hamberg - 859-344-3338
Email: joyce.hamberg@thomasmore.edu

Union College

Approved Programs

Elementary; Middle: English and Communications, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies;

Secondary: Biological Science, Chemistry, English, Mathematics, and Social Studies;

P-12: Health, Learning and Behavior Disorders, and Physical Education

Contact(s)

Dee Crescitelli - 606-546-1207
Email:dcrescitelli@unionky.edu

University of Kentucky

Approved Programs

Middle: Mathematics and Science;

Secondary: Biological Science, Chemistry,  Earth Science, and Mathematics;

P-12: Chinese, French, German, Japanese, Moderate and Severe Disabilities, Russian, and Spanish

 

Gary Schroeder (Middle and Secondary) 859-257-8691

Contact(s)

Stayc Dubravc (P-12 Languages) 859-257-9562

 

Melinda Ault (MSD)  859-257-7689

University of Louisville

Approved Programs

Middle School: English, Social Studies, Science, and Mathematics;

Secondary Education: Biological Science, Chemistry, Earth and Space Science, English, Mathematics, Physics, Social Studies, Business & Marketing (Grades 5-12);

Foreign Language - French and Spanish (P-12);

Moderate and Severe Disabilities P-12;

Instructional Leadership P-12: School Principal, Supervisor of Instruction, Director of Special Education, Superintendent

Contact(s)

Jan Calvert (Teaching) - 502-852-8053
Email: jmcalv01@louisville.edu

 

Bradley Carpenter (Administration) - 502-852-0611
Email: bwcarp01@louisville.edu

 

 

Western Kentucky University

Approved Programs

Grades P-12: Art, French, German, Integrated Music, Instrumental Music, Learning & Behavior Disorders, Spanish, and Vocal Music;

Middle School: English; Mathematics, Science, Social Studies

Grades 5-12: Business and Marketing

Secondary Grades 8-12: Biological Science, Chemistry, Earth Science, English, Mathematics, Physics, and Social Studies

School Principal P-12

Superintendent

Contact(s)

Janet Applin 270-745-4014    
Email: janet.applin@wku.edu

 

Carolyn Hunt ( School Principal and Superintendent)  270-745-4890
Email:  carolyn.hunt@wku.edu

 

Stacy Owen (Transition to Teaching Grant Coordinator) 270-563-2113
Email: stacey.owen@grrec.ky.gov

Go to the Alternative Routes to Certification Homepage

Contact the EPSB Division of Certification

KyEducators.org